The Block Island Times
http://block-island.villagesoup.com/page/about

The Block Island Times

The Block Island Times is a weekly publication providing coverage of community news for island residents and visitors. It also maintains the website www.blockislandtimes.com that provides a forum for news and postings by the Times reporters and columnists, island businesses and organizations. It is updated daily.

Other publications published by the organization include: The Block Island Summer Times, Block Island Weddings, House and Garden and the annual health and automotive reports. Block Island Magazine is published in cooperation with The Block Island Tourism Council.

The Block Island Times was founded in 1970 by Dan Rattiner, publisher, and Margaret Cabell Self, editor. It published summer editions only until 1982. Under the editorship of Peter and Shirley Wood, the Times became Block Island's first year-round newspaper that year. In 1988, the Times began weekly publication and became the Island's "paper of record."

The Block Island Times is printed on recycled paper by Mass Web Printing of Auburn, Massachusetts. It is distributed by Special Delivery Inc. The Times is a member of the New England Press Association, the Rhode Island Press Association, the National Newspaper Association, the Block Island Chamber of Commerce, the South Kingstown Chamber of Commerce, The Narragansett Chamber of Commerce and the Westerly-Pawcatuck Chamber of Commerce.

The Block Island Times
Ocean Avenue, Box 278
Block Island, RI 02807
Phone: (401) 466-2222
Fax: (401) 466-8804

Contact Information

To send in an ad, make ad changes or inquiries contact:

Ads@blockislandtimes.com

 

 

To place a classified ad, send it in or make an inquiry, contact:

classifieds@blockislandtimes.com.

Want to let us know what you think? Send letters to: letters@blockislandtimes.com.

We're happy to accept news tips, too. Send those to tips@blockislandtimes.com.

Subscription inquiries or online orders can be placed at: subscriptions@blockislandtimes.com.

Co-Publisher: Fraser Lang - flang@blockislandtimes.com

Co-Publisher: Betty Rawls Lang - blang@blockislandtimes.com

Editor: Lars R. Trodson - ltrodson@blockislandtimes.com

Editor of Special Publications: Lisa Stiepock - lstiepock@blockislandtimes.com

Web Editor: Stephanie Turaj - sturaj@blockislandtimes.com

Advertising & Production Manager: John Barry - jbarry@blockislandtimes.com

Office Manager: Shane Howrigan - showrigan@blockislandtimes.com

Editorial Assistant: Kari Curtis - kcurtis@blockislandtimes.com

Staff Photographer: Kari Curtis - kcurtis@blockislandtimes.com

Reporters: Stephanie Turaj, Gloria Redlich, Judy Tierney, Laura Kelly

Columnists: Martha Ball, Mike & Becky Ballard, Scott Comings, Bob Downie, Bob Stiepock, Matt King, Fred Nelson, Fran Migliaccio, J.V. Houlihan

Advertising:

Betty Rawls Lang - blang@blockislandtimes.com

Shane Howrigan - showrigan@blockislandtimes.com

Block Island Times

Founded 1970

Founding Publisher: Dan Rattiner 1970 - 1982

Founding Editor: Margaret Cabell Self 1970-1982

Publishers:

Peter and Shirley Wood 1982-1997

Jeffrey McDonough 1997-1999

Bruce and Peggy Montgomery 1999-2006

Fraser and Betty Rawls Lang 2006-present