The Block Island Times

Joan Abrams Award nominations now being accepted

Aug 02, 2013

The Block Island Times is now accepting nominations for this year’s Joan Abrams Award.

The award is given each year to a local businessperson that has given back to our community, has gone above and beyond to provide a great experience, has given Block Island a good name, and creatively managed our changing island.

Last year’s winners were Sue and Ray Linda of Interstate Navigation. Previous winners are Bill and Lois Bendokas of New England Airlines, Mary Newhouse of Seawinds, Mary Jane Balser of The Block Island Grocery and the Cyr family of the Surf Hotel. The first recipients were the Draper/Abrams family of Hotel Manisses and related businesses.

Email nominations to or mail them to The Block Island Times, Box 278, Block Island R.I. 02807.

Comments (0)
If you wish to comment, please login.